Review: Moonbattery

http://moonbattery.com/?p=23701

From the story: “In November, Local 6 broke the story about the controversial garden after the city [of Orlando] told the Helvenstons their 25-by-25-foot front yard vegetable garden was not in compliance with the city’s code.

After hundreds of emails supporting the couple flowed in and initially allowing the Helvenstons to keep their garden, saying it will hold off on violations, the city has since asked the couple to uproot the garden and replace it with a lawn or face fines.”

I just don’t get it. At what point do we say enough? It is a garden for cripes sake. City code…for a garden? What is the garden hurting. What is the thinking behind this? Replace the garden with a lawn? I don’t understand how that will enhance their neighborhood.  I would think that in these uncertain times a garden would be infinitely more useful than a lawn! Not only that, lawn maintenance is just a waste of money when compared to a garden that produces healthy food. I have had large gardens most of my life and I know that a garden that size would provide for a pretty good size family year round if you canned your produce! I couldn’t afford to keep the garden, I would end up losing the house. I would love to be able to stick to my convictions like these people.

Don’t you wonder what is next?

Leave a Reply

