Final Thoughts on Shirky

 

How would you rate this book on a scale from 1-5, with 1 being “horrible!” and 5 being “amazing!” ?
What are the three most important things you learned from (or read about in) _Cognitive Surplus_? 
What are three things you disagree with?
Would you recommend this book to people interested in technology and culture? Why or why not?

 

I didn’t think that I would like this book. I am not much for non-fiction, when I read it is to escape my world. I was really surprised that I enjoyed this book as much as I did. I am supposed to write the three most important things I learned through this book-but my favorite parts of this book are all the history involved in it. The coming of the printing press could be likened to the beginning of our computer age. The beginnings of the scientific method and its effect on modern-day science even today-these things sparked my interest in reading the rest of the book. I give the book a 4, only because I spent a bit of time confused each chapter…until I sat and digested the book a bit.

I didn’t find my self disagreeing with the book much at all. I still want a professional to do my brain surgery-and given the choice I will pick encyclopedia Britannica over Wikipedia any day, lol. I will, of course, research my little brains out in the mean time. I most likely would try to see multiple medical professionals over internet research. A mind is a terrible thing to waste!

I would recommend this book to people though, and not just to those into tech and culture. I think people in business could use it as well. It has really good insights into people as a whole. It is really well written and clear. Usually books on technology read like stereo instructions written in Japanese-I don’t get them. I also think that this book would be a good one for high school history classes to tackle. It is short and gives a lot of real world effects for historical actions. It is even laugh out loud funny in some spots.

Leave a Reply

